• 2021-2022
  • Regular Meeting

Official School Board Minutes

Regular Meeting of the School Board
December 14, 2021

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of Independent School District 270 was conducted in person on Tuesday December 14, 2021. The meeting was called to order at 7:12 p.m. School Board members present: Treasurer Steve Adams, Vice Chair Andreson Chair Jennifer Bouchard, Director Tanya Khan, Director John Kuhl, and Clerk Katie Pederson. School Board members absent: Director Fartun Ahmed.

Student Board reps present: None. Student Board reps absent: None.

Staff members present: Superintendent Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed. Staff members absent: None.

Open Agenda  

Bouchard noted that no Open Agenda comments for items on the agenda were submitted. She went on to thank and highlight the work of departing Board Members, Fartun Ahmed and John Kuhl. Director Kuhl spoke about his experience on the Board over the past year.



Dr. Mhiripiri-Reed updated board members on district events and highlighted staff achievements.

Approval of Agenda

Khan moved, Adams seconded, to approve the agenda as presented. Carried.

Consent Calendar

Pederson moved, Khan seconded, to approve the Consent Calendar as presented: A) Approval of Minutes — Regular Meeting Conducted on December 7, 2021; B) Human Resources — Personnel Updates; C) NSBA Membership, 2022 Invoice; D) Elementary Professional Learning Days; E) Proposal for Out of State/Overnight Travel — Hopkins Alpine Ski Team (Boys). Carried.

Treasurer’s Report

Treasurer Adams highlighted expenses of interest. Adams moved, Pederson seconded, to approve financial disbursements in the amount of $858,755.83 for the period of November 30, 2021 through December 7, 2021. Carried.

Legislative Action Coalition (LAC), State Platform 2022

Treasurer Adams along with LAC Co-Chair, Michelle Pasko updated the board on the focus for the 2022 State Platform in asking the Governor’s office and the Minnesota Legislature to partner with Hopkins Public Schools LAC to accelerate innovation and expand services for our scholars and their families.

 2022 LAC Priorities:

  • Fully fund public school nutrition programs so all Minnesota families have equitable access to healthy meals, contributing to overall community health and food security.

  • Eliminate compensatory funding qualification based on free and reduced-price lunch applications and move toward community eligibility for essential services.

  • Support your investment in reimagine Minnesota to ensure that public education remains – as written in our constitution – a “paramount duty” of this state.

  • Empower locally-elected school boards to do the job to which they were elected: grant local control to renew existing operating referenda, set school calendars, allow flexible and innovative spending priorities.

  • Provide families with secure and sustainable early education funding for pathways i and ii early learning scholarships, school readiness plus, and voluntary pre-k.

  • Direct the Minnesota Department of Education to update and reform outdated and cumbersome requirements for scholars and teachers including mandated “seat time” requirements, and restrictive teacher licensing procedures.

  • Expand and stabilize mental health supports and services by increasing and stabilizing funding, resources, and access.

  • Stabilize education funding and link the basic formula to inflation to provide a consistent funding stream that allows school districts to engage in long-range planning.

Board members discussed the presentation and its holistic approach using Vision 2031 values. Kuhl moved, Pederson seconded that the Board adopt the LAC’s State legislative platform for 2022. Carried.

Board Member Reports

Board members reported on recent educational activities/events in which they have participated.

Public Comment — Items Not on Agenda

District Parent, Christopher Carr addressed the Board with comments surrounding school safety and security.

Adams moved, Anderson seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 8:01 p.m. Carried.



Katie Pederson, School Board Clerk