Hopkins Legislative Action Coalition (LAC) hosts annual legislative breakfast

Hopkins Legislative Action Coalition (LAC) hosts annual legislative breakfast

The Hopkins Legislative Action Coalition hosted its annual legislative breakfast with legislators, school board members, educators and district leaders on Jan. 19 at Hopkins High School. The event is designed to help legislators understand the critical issues impacting education and Hopkins Public Schools.

Students and educators played a key role in the event. Hopkins ProStart culinary students prepared a delicious and beautifully presented breakfast. Teachers Jessie Theirl, Kara LeVahn and Marit Leedohse spoke about the exciting expansions within the career and technical education program, including the new CNA program that will start next term. Hopkins School Board student representatives Samia Osman, Grace Reily, Aaron Siddiky, Praise Akinyele and Elif Ozturk also attended. 

The LAC presented its platform to legislators, which included the importance of a flexible calendar and strategies for spurring and preserving innovation within Hopkins Schools. There was a robust discussion around the importance of recruiting and retaining teachers and a need to address a growing teacher shortage. 

Thank you to representatives Patty Acomb, Mike Freiberg, Larry Kraft, Laurie Pryor and Cheryl Youakim and senators Steve Cwodzinski, Ronald Latz,  Ann Rest, Kelly Morrison for spending the morning with us.  


January LAC Event