Legislative Action Coalition

Community-driven advocacy dedicated to lobbying for educational policies and funding

The Hopkins Public Schools Legislative Action Coalition assists the Hopkins School Board in advocacy for education-related legislation. The LAC Steering Committee coordinates these advocacy efforts throughout the Hopkins School District by developing, proposing, and advocating for legislative positions designed to advance the cause of good schools in Hopkins and Minnesota. The Legislative Action Coalition and the LAC Steering Committee exist by Hopkins School Board policy and their activities are subject to Hopkins School Board approval.

Have questions or would like to get involved? Email LAC@HopkinsSchools.org.

Join our mailing list to receive email alerts from the Legislative Action Coalition.

Get LAC Email Alerts

Students and members of the Legislative Action Coalition lobbying at the Minnesota Capitol

Get Involved

Legislative Action Coalition with Hopkins H logo.

Join Hopkins Legislative Action Coalition's Meet the Candidates Forum virtual community event on Saturday, October 1, 2022 from 9:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Legislative Action Coalition with Hopkins H logo.

We are encouraged by Governor Walz' Supplemental Budget priorities for education which align with those of Hopkins Public Schools, especially around early education, universal school meals, and broadening the teaching workforce.

Legislative Action Coalition with Hopkins H logo.

Many community members are wondering why the COVID-19 federal relief money is not enough for schools. We encourage you to take a look at our legislative priorities below and take action by contacting your legislators and legislative leaders.

Upcoming LAC Events

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jul 31
Mon, Aug 1
Tue, Aug 2
Wed, Aug 3
Thu, Aug 4
Fri, Aug 5
Sat, Aug 6
Sun, Aug 7
Mon, Aug 8
Tue, Aug 9
Wed, Aug 10
Thu, Aug 11
Fri, Aug 12
Sat, Aug 13
Sun, Aug 14
Mon, Aug 15
Tue, Aug 16
Wed, Aug 17
Thu, Aug 18
Fri, Aug 19
Sat, Aug 20
Sun, Aug 21
Mon, Aug 22
Tue, Aug 23
Wed, Aug 24
Thu, Aug 25
Fri, Aug 26
Sat, Aug 27
Sun, Aug 28
Mon, Aug 29
Tue, Aug 30
Wed, Aug 31
Thu, Sep 1
Fri, Sep 2
Sat, Sep 3

COVID-19

Throughout the COVID-19 crisis, Minnesota's school districts have been taking care of their communities by providing critical services. 

COVID-19 LAC Letter to Legislators

MN House File Addressing COVID-19 Education Funding