Seven candidates vying for four open seats on the Hopkins School Board

The candidate pool includes three incumbents and four challengers.
August 19, 2019

Seven school board candidates are vying for four open seats on the Hopkins School Board. Three of the candidates – Steve Adams, Dave Larson, and Kris Newcomer* – are incumbents. The four challengers include Shannon Andreson, Tanya Khan, Katie O'Shea Pederson, and Benjamin Karls**. Each term is four years and begins January 1, 2020. Election Day is Nov. 5, 2019. 

Hopkins Public Schools will share information on candidate forums and ways to get to know each candidate as that information becomes available to us.

Listed below are the resources that we know of that feature candidate information: 

Lakeshore Weekly News 
Meet the 7 candidates running for Hopkins School Board

Sun Sailor 
Hopkins School Board candidates share their stances on achievement gap, open enrollment  

Candidate Forum 
Rebroadcast of the The League of Women Candidate Forum held on Wednesday, Sept. 25. 
*There currently is not a video statement available for this candidate. 
** Benjamin Karls has withdrawn his candidacy, although his name will still appear on the ballot.  
Voting Information 

Hopkins News Archive