School Board Election 2017

Five school board candidates are vying for three open seats. We have everything you need to make an informed vote.
October 16, 2017

On Nov. 7, our community will elect three new school board members to the Hopkins School Board. Five candidates—Chris LaTondresse, Steve Semler, Fartun Ahmed, Jen Westmoreland Bouchard, and Kevin Bennett—are vying for three seats currently held by incumbents Betsy Anderson, Warren Goodroad, and Doobie Kurus, none of whom are seeking re-election.

You can read more information about each candidate in the "Voters' Guide" prepared by the Sun Sailor. Also, the League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, held a School Board Candidate Forum on Oct. 12. A video of that forum is available below.

The Hopkins School Board has seven members, including four officers—chair, vice chair, treasurer, and clerk—and three directors. Board members are elected to four-year terms of office.

League of Women School Board Candidate Forum (starts at 16:30).


Opening Statements

Fartun Ahmed- 17:44
Kevin Bennett- 20:27
Jen Westmoreland Bouchard- 21:48
Chris LaTondresse- 23:58
Steve Semler- 26:09

Closing Statements

Kevin Bennett- 1:24:59
Jen Westmoreland Bouchard- 1:25:48
Chris LaTondresse- 1:26:44
Steve Semler- 1:27:54
Fartun Ahmed- 1:28:57

Hopkins News Archive