National Merit Honors

October 19, 2008

Twenty-two Hopkins High School seniors have been honored for their outstanding achievement on the 2007 Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Five Hopkins High School seniors—Noah Berman, Conor Doherty, Michael Haynes, Caroline Hedberg, and Jack Wanderman—have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. These students represent the top one-half of one percent of high school seniors in the country.

Commended Students

Fifteen Hopkins High School seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2009 National Merit Scholarship Program. Hopkins' Commended Students are Kellyn Arnold, William Breczinski, Cassandra Burke, Logan Dick, Madison Dunitz, Ruth Goins, Christian Kramer, Kya Laulainen, Shaun Levin, Jenna Lillemoe, John Mooney, Idil Oksuz, Dana Rancour, Krishna Shankar, and Alexander Weir. Former Hopkins' students Laura Nuckols and Aimee Renaud also earned this prestigious honor. These 17 students are among 34,000 Commended Students from throughout the nation begin recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

National Achievement Scholarship Program

Two Hopkins High School seniors, Ruth Goins and Lauren Vickers, have been honored by the National Achievement Scholarship Program. Goins has been named a semifinalist—one of a select group of 1,600 students in the country, and is eligible for scholarships. Vickers has been named an outstanding participant—one of 3,100 students in the country. Although she will not continue in the scholarship competition, her name will be sent to a list of prestigious colleges and universities.

Hopkins News Archive