Hopkins High School student media awarded several honors at state press convention

Hopkins media program brought home multiple awards from the Minnesota High School Press Association state convention at the University of Minnesota.
October 22, 2018

The Hopkins High School student media team took home multiple awards at the annual Minnesota High School Press Association state convention at the University of Minnesota Oct. 9.

Jeff Kocur, Hopkins High School yearbook and newspaper adviser, said the students demonstrate their ability to effectively communicate across many different media platforms on a weekly basis under student leaders.

“These awards reflect the students’ dedication to their community and continuous improvement to produce the best and most relevant content,” Kocur said.

Both yearbook and the newspaper did especially well at this year’s convention, where more than 500 students represented schools across the state. In particular, this is the first time the Royal Page website, Hopkinsrp.org, has finished in first place for the Gold Medallion award, and the first time in second place for the Best-in-Show Award.

“I hope the students continue to inspire each other to cover important stories of students and the issues students face both in this community and their culture at large,” Kocur said. “I’d love to see the students continue to grow their digital footprint through the Hopkinsrp.org and leverage social media to engage their communities.”


The 2018 Hopkins High School Regalia, the student-produced yearbook, earned two awards. The editors-in-chief of the yearbook were Nikki Wilson and Gabe Fishman

  • All-State Gold

  • Best-in-Show, Second Place 


The 2018 Royal Page, the student-produced newspaper, earned multiple awards.

  • All-State GoldMichael Korsh, editor-in-chief of print

  • Best in Show, October issue — Fifth Place: Maya Kupritz, editor-in-chief of print

  • Best in Show, Hopkinsrp.org — Second Place: Luis Felemovicius, editor-in-chief of digital

  • Website: General Excellence — First Place: Royal Page staff

  • Broadcast news story — First Place: James Gulden

  • Broadcast feature story — Second Place: James Gulden and Ben Herstig

  • Centerspread design — Second Place and Fifth Place: Michael Korsh

  • Newspaper editorial cartoon — Fifth Place: Mary Schutte

  • Newspaper editorial — Third Place: Hannah Goldfarb

  • Newspaper editorial — Seventh Place: Royal Page staff

  • Newspaper feature story — Seventh Place Alicia Winter

  • Newspaper news photo — Second Place: Isaac Richert

  • Newspaper news story — First Place: Sam Eklund, Hannah Goldfarb, Michael Korsh, Maya Kupritz

  • Newspaper page one design — Fourth Place: Hannah Goldfarb

  • Newspaper review — Seventh Place: Paul Zeitz

  • Newspaper review — Eighth Place: Mason Arneson

  • Newspaper single page design — First Place and Third Place: Michael Korsh

  • Newspaper sports story — Third Place: Michael Korsh, Navit Nachmias and Atianna Hernke

  • Newspaper sports story — Eighth Place: Sam Segelbaum

Hopkins News Archive