Ages 14½ - 17
10 sessions (30 hours total), $389
Our convenient Driver Education program is offered in partnership with Safeway Driving School. Safeway has been teaching teens to drive in the Metro Area for over 40 years. Our focus is creating safe, responsible teen drivers. A customized teen program emphasizes defensive driving through classroom and behind-the-wheel training. All of the instructors are licensed by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
NEW: Payment plan option. Pay $249 at registration, then make two payments of $75 at the first two behind-the-wheel lessons, for more details about this payment plan, please call 952-988-4070.
More about our Driver Education program:
Students are required to take 30 hours of classroom instruction. Students can start classes at age 14½, obtain their permit at age 15, and license at age 16. The enhanced classroom curriculum includes study guides, PowerPoint presentations, worksheets, videos, and interactive computer software. These classes prepare students for the Minnesota Permit Exam and focus on critical behavior and attitude issues common to teen drivers. If a student needs to miss a lesson, they can make up that exact lesson at any of the upcoming Hopkins sessions or at one of Safeway's fixed locations.
Students must complete six hours of driving lessons with a Safeway instructor before taking the Minnesota Road Exam. Safeway's lessons are divided into three, two-hour lessons. The lessons are one-on-one instruction with a responsible, professional Safeway driving instructor. Students can be picked up from and dropped off at home, school or work. Safeway offers convenient online behind-the-wheel scheduling. The lessons are given on actual city streets, highways and freeways. It is recommended that students take their first lesson 6-8 weeks after receiving their permit. Lessons should be at least 30 days apart allowing for practice with parents in between lessons.
Safeway offers detailed information on its website regarding Minnesota laws and requirements for student drivers. Safeway also offers an online Parent Class to explain the program and answer questions. After students pass the Minnesota Permit Exam, they are required to practice at least 30 hours (at least 10 hours at night) with their parent. Parents are their child's primary driving instructor so it is critical to practice regularly with permitted drivers in all driving situations.
For more information about Safeway's program or to schedule a behind-the-wheel lesson, visit www.safewaydrivingschool.com.